Frequently Asked Questions
Is it possible to be both keto and vegan/vegetarian?
People on a vegetarian keto diet avoid all meat and seafood. High-carb foods like grains, legumes, fruits, and starchy vegetables should be very limited and eaten only if they fit into your daily carb allotment. Vegan diets eliminate all animal products and tend to be extremely high in carbohydrates; vegans also avoid dairy including cheese, milk and yogurt. Following a keto vegan diet can be very challenging. However, with careful planning and meal prep, it is possible to be both keto and vegan.
Ketolicious Bake Shop offers a variety of keto treats that support vegan and vegetarian lifestyles. You should always check the product ingredient list on the website to make sure they meet your personal dietary guidelines.
All my products are lacto-ovo-vegetarian-friendly. I use eggs and dairy in many of my products. Only some of my products are vegan, specifically the following fat bombs. Chocolate Fruit & Nut, Peppermint Delights, Almond Chai Pistachio, Chocolate Peanut Butter, Lemon, and Matcha Coconut.
What type of sugar-free sweeteners are best on a ketogenic diet?
A ketogenic diet limits both your carbohydrate and sugar intake to reach ketosis. Many sweeteners exist which you can use and still be successful on a sugar-free, low-carb keto diet. The carbohydrates in these sugar alternatives do not raise blood sugar or insulin levels the same way regular sugar does. Because of this, these carbs do not count towards the total amount of carbs consumed for that day. It also makes these sweeteners safer for people who need to avoid sugar for medical reasons. Some of these sweeteners include:
Erythritol: Erythritol occurs naturally in some fruit and fermented foods. Erythritol is a type of sugar alcohol that’s 80% as sweet as regular sugar with just 5% of the calories.
Stevia: Stevia is a natural sweetener derived from the Stevia rebaudiana plant that contains little to no calories or carbs. Studies have shown that stevia may help lower blood sugar levels.
Xylitol: Xylitol is a sugar alcohol that is as sweet as regular sugar. Xylitol has been associated with digestive problems with certain people. Either scale back or avoid Xylitol if you notice any adverse effects.
Monk Fruit: Monk fruit sweetener is a natural sweetener extracted from the monk fruit, a plant native to southern China. Monk fruit extract contains no calories and no carbs, making it a great option for a ketogenic diet. Be careful: Monk fruit extract is sometimes mixed with sugar, molasses or other sweeteners that will increase the calorie and carb content.
What sweeteners should I avoid on a keto diet?
Because natural sweeteners like Agave nectar, honey, dates, coconut sugar, and maple syrup are touted as healthy, people mistakenly think they’re keto-friendly. These sweeteners will increase your blood sugar levels and kick you out of ketosis. They should be avoided.
At Ketolicious Bake Shop, we found great success using mostly erythritol and liquid stevia in our products.
What is Swerve?
Swerve is the brand name of an erythritol-based sugar replacement. Its non-GMO ingredients are derived from fruits and vegetables with no artificial ingredients, preservatives or flavors added. Swerve is diabetes-friendly, non-glycemic, and gluten-free.
Are ketogenic foods automatically gluten free?
A ketogenic diet is naturally very low in gluten. If you do not have a gluten intolerance or celiac disease, there is no need to avoid gluten as long as the products are low-carb and sugar-free. When eating keto foods, make sure you check the labels for gluten additives, especially in breads and other baked goods.
Here at Ketolicious Bake Shop, we use only gluten-free products in our baking. We use ingredients such as almond flour, coconut flour, psyllium husk and flax seed to make our delicious baked keto treats.
How do I calculate net carbs?
To calculate net carbs, subtract the ‘carbs from fiber’ and ‘non-digestible carbs’ from the total carbs. At Ketolicious, the carbohydrates in erythritol (Swerve) are considered “other carbs” and have already been subtracted from the total carb count.
Are any of your Ketolicious Bake Shop products gluten-free?
Yes, all my products are gluten-free.
Which Ketolicious Bake Shop products are dairy-free?
The following fat bombs are dairy-free: Almond Chai Pistachio, Chocolate Peanut Butter, Lemon, Matcha Coconut, Chocolate Nut & Fruit, and Peppermint Delights.
Are your Ketolicious Bake Shop products diabetes-friendly?
Yes, my products are diabetes-friendly as long as they are calculated and consumed as part of a healthy, diabetes-conscientious diet. However, you should always check the ingredients listed for each product and check with your doctor if you’re unsure of the effect an ingredient would have on you personally. All of my products contain sweeteners that do not affect blood sugar. Also, I use coconut and almond flour in my baking. These flours are very low in carbohydrates and have limited effect on blood sugar.
How quickly will my Ketolicious Bake Shop order be shipped?
Our products are handmade in small batches that are made to order and immediately frozen. Due to the unpredictable nature of shipping, most orders are shipped the following Monday or Tuesday. However, some local orders may be shipped at other times of the week. Once your order is shipped, you will receive an email notification providing you the tracking number so you will know when to expect your order.
Can I place a special order?
Ketolicious Bake Shop always looks to meet your special needs. Please contact us to see if we can accommodate your request.
Where is Ketolicious Bake Shop located?
We are located in beautiful Hunterdon County, New Jersey. Although we do not have a storefront, local customers can contact us to arrange for pick-up service.